Life Safety Achievement Award

Life Safety Achievement Award

NASFM Fire Research & Education Foundation along with Grinnell Mutual Reinsurance Company presents the 2017 Life Safety Achievement Award.

Since 1994, the Life Safety Achievement (LSA) Award has recognized fire departments for outstanding fire safety statistics and effective fire prevention programs during the preceding calendar year. Grinnell Mutual works with the National Association of State Fire Marshals to recognize those fire departments that meet a set of criteria demonstrating their commitment to saving lives and educating their community about fire safety.

Life Safety Achievement Award criteria:

  • Zero fire deaths or at least a 10 percent reduction in fire deaths from the previous year.
  • An active fire prevention program is in place within the department. Briefly describe the program.
  • Dedicated commitment to fire prevention activities. Briefly describe the department’s commitment and the resources committed, which may be financial or in-kind.
  • Evidence by some measure (department determined) that fire prevention efforts increased over the previous year and are making a positive difference. 
Apply online for a 2017 LSA award beginning May 15, 2018. Entries must be received by July 31, 2018 and winners will be notified in September.

View the 2016 recipients.

Click here for links to other fire organizations.

Grinnell Mutual in your community

Grinnell Mutual values relationships in communities like yours. Learn more about how Grinnell Mutual partners with organizations dedicated to improving the quality of living in communities in the Midwest.