Four directors re-elected to Grinnell Mutual board

Four directors re-elected to Grinnell Mutual board

Grinnell Mutual’s 108th Annual Meeting for its affiliated members convened in Grinnell, Iowa, on June 29. Four members of the board were presented for re-election and were unanimously approved by the members to serve a three-year term. They are: James Buch, Benton Mutual Insurance Company, Keystone, Iowa; Stephen Smith, Western Cherokee Mutual Insurance Association, Marcus, Iowa; Paul Stueven, Fairmont Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, Jackson, Minn.; and Susan Taggert, Remington Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, Remington, Indiana.

Grinnell Mutual’s board help make strategic decisions for the company. In business since 1909, Grinnell Mutual operates in 14 states, offering property and casualty insurance products through nearly 1,600 independent agents and is the 117th largest property-casualty insurance company in the United States. It is the largest primary reinsurer of farm mutuals in North America.

Business meeting

During the annual business meeting, Senior Vice President of the Legal Division, Secretary, and General Counsel Pete Lahn read the minutes from the 2015 meeting, which included discussion of a pending omnibus bill concerning the makeup of the board of directors. Lahn noted that the bill passed in July of 2015, and that Grinnell Mutual’s board is in final compliance with the rules set out by the bill.

Board chair Dale Bartelt announced the 2016 nominating committee: Scott Arenholz (chair), Pioneer Mutual Insurance Association, Red Oak, Iowa; Ann Banks, Clay Mutual Insurance Association, Spencer, Iowa; Brian Dix, Butler County Mutual Insurance, Allison, Iowa; Larry Abbe, Farmers Mutual Insurance Association, Schleswig, Iowa; Kevin Mosley, Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, Macon, Mo.; Randy Druvenga (board representative); and Larry Jansen (Grinnell Mutual president and CEO)