Life Safety Achievement Award

NASFM Fire Research & Education Foundation along with Grinnell Mutual Reinsurance Company presents the 2015 Life Safety Achievement Award.

Apply Online

Or download the PDF version of the application and email it to by July 31, 2016 for the 2015 Life Safety Achievement Award.

Since 1994, the Life Safety Achievement (LSA) Award has recognized fire departments for outstanding fire safety statistics and effective fire prevention programs during the preceding calendar year.  In recognition of these proactive fire prevention efforts aimed at improving a community’s fire and life safety behaviors, a fire department may be eligible for the Life Safety Achievement Award.

Life Safety Achievement Award Criteria:

  • Zero fire deaths or at least a 10 percent reduction in fire deaths from the previous year.
  • An active fire prevention program is in place within the department.  Briefly describe the program.
  • Dedicated commitment to fire prevention activities.  Briefly describe the department’s commitment and the resources committed, which may be financial or in-kind.
  • Evidence by some measure (department-determined) that fire prevention efforts increased over the previous year and are making a positive difference. 

To view the 2014 recipients, click here.

To view the 2013 recipients, click here.

To view the 2012 recipients, click here.

To view the 2011 recipients, click here.

Click here for links to other fire organizations.